Auto DOP ! 11g Feature…

Recently, during one of the Performance POC on an Oracle Engineered System, I got to implement Auto DOP feature for one of their critical Batch Job. This Batch job is a a set of multiple processes. Some of the processes run as a Serial Process, some these are just one process, but the query is hinted to use Oracle Parallelism and some of these are parallel application threads.

For AUTO DOP to work, there are two mandatory settings. These are IO Calibration and setting of parallel_degree_policy (which defaults to MANUAL, means no AUTO DOP). I started with AUTO settings as LIMITED requires changing DEGREE for all (or critical huge) tables. AUTO setting means, Optimizer will calculate and come out with the Degree of Parallelism. Further, this setting also enables two features: Parallel_Statement_Queuing and In-Memory Parallel Execution. In-Memory Parallel execution might disable Exadata Smart Scan, therefore, I modified _parallel_cluster_cache_policy to ADAPTIVE i.e no In-Memory Parallel Execution. IO Calibration was done, so that, optimizer can take the advantage of various values (as can be seen from DBA_RSRC_IO_CALIBRATION) to come out with Degree of Parallelism.

My initial test run was not that successful. While investigating this, I came across a very informative article from Gwen Shapira. As per this article, for AUTO DOP considers MAX_PMBPS value only and this can be set manually to 200. In my case, since the calibration process was executed, the value for MAX_PMBPS was around 3000+. As I understand, this value depicts the throughput and therefore, larger the value, lower the DOP will be. I followed the advice in the article and deleted the rows from resource_io_calibrate$.

delete from resource_io_calibrate$;
insert into resource_io_calibrate$ values(current_timestamp, current_timestamp, 0, 0, 200, 0, 0);
commit;

Post setting this value manually, the database needs a restart. This change did the trick. The performance of many of the processes improved drastically. For some of the queries, we could also see Statement Queuing working effectively i.e. waiting for the resources to be available and taking up the required DOP, rather than downgrading the parallel degree. However, the customer was bit apprehensive about AUTO word and therefore, decided to Implement the optimizer calculations of DOP manually into each of these queries and disabling this feature. This change worked as well.

My observations from this nice feature (and I may be wrong as I did not get much time to investigate or work on this), to name a few are :

  • Any Query that takes more than 10 Seconds (Optimizer Estimation) will be subject to Auto DOP
  • A Query with parallel hint will also go through serial execution run time evaluation. This means, if optimizer estimates the runtime of serial execution to be less than 10 seconds, parallel hint will be ignored.
  • In my opinion, AUTO DOP is one of the best innovation.

    About Vivek Sharma
    I am an Oracle Professional from Mumbai (India). I blog on the issues that I feel is Interesting for my readers. Some of these are my real life examples, which I hope, you would find interesting. Comments are always a welcome. The Technical Observations & Views here are my own and not necessarily those of Oracle or its affiliates. These are purely based on my understandings, learnings and resolutions of various customer issues.

    Leave a Reply

    